70′s me

fond memories of my grandfather

fond memories of my grandfather

Some fun facts about myself: I grew up on the Northsea shore in Germany close to Denmark. Memories are filled with heavenly summer days on our 2 mile long beach and yes, sometimes in the nudist zone since my parents were true hippies! I am the 3rd child of 4 and with a large community of cousins visiting for the summer holidays. Friends, bonfires, riding horse and going swimming with them are all part of that fabulous beach life. I have vivid memories of the ‘living green’ phase that swept across Germany in the 70′s and my mum being one of the first in our town of 2500 people to completely switch our eating habits and lifestyle. Whole grain pasta, brown rice, eco detergent and so on were introduced and didn’t end with her buying a small mill to grind her own whole wheat flower from different grains. Cookies and birthday cakes became whole grain (to the dismay of us kids) with even my dad making a face in the beginning. She would drive for miles to pick up fresh farm milk and freshly whipped butter. But this ‘green living’ phase wasn’t just a phase, it became the norm. My aunt and uncle are both architects and were living in a solar powered house they designed themselves at that time. When I visited Berlin with my family 2 years ago I was amazed to see how a large city like Berlin was dealing with recycling and even requiring every household to separate compost. People are biking everywhere and are members of organic food chains similar to the Food Coop in Brooklyn.

In a funny way I am feeling like I am reliving my childhood memories now here in New York with the enormous eco wave gripping the country. And I am even married to an architect that focuses on green housing! These are very exciting times and love being part of it to be able to make a contribution.

2 responses to “70′s me

  1. Courtney Velasquez

    Wow! That is so cool that your mom was so eco-friendly. I don’t ever remember a mention of organic food, recycling or the word eco-anything growing up. You are lucky to have had a mom who paved the way for a brighter future for you and your family!

  2. great post(why i keep getting an error when i try to subscribe to your feed)?thanks

Leave a Reply

